It Starts with Bobcat

The Bobcat Badge is the first badge of rank earned by every new Cub Scout, no matter whether they first join Cub Scouts in 1st grade or 5th.   The Bobcat Badge is earned by learning the Cub Scout Motto, the Cub Scout Promise, handshake, salute, sign, the meaning of Webelos, and the Law of the Pack.
After earning the Bobcat Badge, boys start working on earning the appropriate rank Badge (Tiger, Wolf, Bear, or Webelos), depending on their age and grade level.

The Cub Scout Motto:

Do Your Best
The Cub Scout Promise:
I, [Scout's name], promise to do my best
To do my duty to God and my country,
To help other people, and
To obey the Law of the Pack.
The Law of the Pack:
The Cub Scout follows Akela.
The Cub Scout helps the pack go.
The pack helps the Cub Scout grow.
The Cub Scout gives goodwill.